COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS TUESDAY, JANUARY 10, 2023

MINUTE ORDER NO. 2

SUBJECT: APPOINTMENTS OF BOARD MEMBERS TO BOARDS, COMMISSIONS AND COMMITTEES (DISTRICTS: ALL)

OVERVIEW

The Board of Supervisors annually appoints Board Members to the boards, commissions and committees listed in Attachment A.

RECOMMENDATION(S) VICE-CHAIR NORA VARGAS

- 1. Appoint members of the Board of Supervisors to boards, commissions and committees as proposed in Attachment A.
- 2. Appoint Caroline Smith, Director, Office of Economic Development and Government Affairs, as the second alternate member on the Urban Counties of California.
- Dissolution of the following Board of Supervisors Ad Hoc Subcommittees on March 31, 2023: (1) Affordable Housing Solutions Ad Hoc Subcommittee, (2) Climate Advisory Subcommittee, (3) COVID-19 Issues Ad Hoc Subcommittee, (4) County Administration Center Building Occupancy/Waterfront Park, (5) Fiscal Management & Budget Strategy Subcommittee, (6) San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station Fuel Removal, (7) Schools Subcommittee, and (8) Summit on Aging Subcommittee.

EQUITY IMPACT STATEMENT

Annually, the Board of Supervisors must appoint members of the Board to serve on boards, commissions, and committees. This ensures that the County has a voice on regional boards and commissions for opportunities to maximize resources to benefit the region.

SUSTAINABILITY IMPACT STATEMENT

The proposed appointments allow stakeholders to plan for community engagement and identify meaningful ways to continually seek input to foster inclusive and sustainable communities.

FISCAL IMPACT

There is no fiscal impact associated with this action.

BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT

There is no business impact associated with this action.

ACTION:

ON MOTION of Supervisor Fletcher, seconded by Supervisor Lawson-Remer, the Board of Supervisors took action as recommended and adopted the following list of appointments to boards, commissions, and committees.

COMMITTEE NAMES	APPOINTED
Board of Supervisors' Committees:	
Affordable Housing Solutions Ad Hoc	Lawson-Remer / Anderson
Subcommittee	
Child and Family Strengthening Advisory Board	Fletcher / Lawson-Remer
Climate Advisory Committee	Lawson-Remer / Vargas
COVID-19 Issues Ad Hoc Subcommittee	Fletcher / Vargas
County Administration Center Building	Fletcher / Lawson-Remer
Occupancy/Waterfront Park	
Fiscal Management & Budget Strategy	Fletcher / Lawson-Remer
Subcommittee	
Multiple Species Conservation Program	Lawson-Remer / Desmond
Review/North County Multiple Species	
Conservation Program	
Polinsky Children's Center/San Pasqual Academy	Fletcher / Lawson-Remer
San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station Fuel	Desmond / Lawson-Remer
Removal	
Schools Subcommittee	Lawson-Remer / Vargas
Summit on Aging	Lawson-Remer / Anderson
Other Committees:	
California Identification System Remote	Anderson
California State Association of Counties (CSAC)	Vargas
	Anderson (Alternate)
City-County Reinvestment Task Force	Anderson
East County Advanced Water Purification JPA	Anderson
	Director, Department of Public Works
	(Alternate)
First 5 Commission (Chair)	Fletcher
Goodan Ranch Regional Park JPA Policy	Anderson
Committee	
Harry Griffen Regional Park JPA	Fletcher
Indian Gaming Local Benefit Committee	Anderson
Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)*	Desmond / Anderson
	Vargas (Alternate)
Metro Wastewater JPA*	Anderson (Alt. Gregory Kazmer)
Metropolitan Transit System Board*	Fletcher
	Vargas (Alternate)
Mission Trails Regional Park Task Force	Anderson / Fletcher
National Association of Counties (NACo)	Vargas
	Desmond (Alternate)

Rincon Shared Benefit Fund Selection Committee	Desmond
San Diego Association of Governments	Vargas (Seat 1)
(SANDAG)*	Anderson (Seat 2)
	Lawson-Remer (Alternate)
	Tally vote order: Vargas, Anderson,
	Lawson-Remer
SANDAG Committees:	
Bayshore Bikeway	Vargas
Borders Committee*	Anderson
	Vargas (Alternate)
Executive Committee*	Vargas
	Lawson-Remer (Alternate)
Public Safety Committee*	Anderson
	Lawson-Remer (Alternate)
Regional Planning Committee*	Lawson-Remer
	Anderson (Alternate)
Selection committee for the TransNet Independent	Lawson-Remer
Taxpayer Oversight Committee	Vargas
Shoreline Preservation Working Group	Lawson-Remer
Transportation Committee*	Lawson-Remer
	Anderson (1 st Alternate) Vargas (2 nd Alternate)
San Diego County Air Pollution Control District	Vargas (2 Alternate) Vargas / Lawson-Remer
San Diego Regional Community Choice Energy	Lawson-Remer
Authority	Vargas (Alternate)
(San Diego Community Power JPA)	Vargas (Anemate)
San Diego County Juvenile Justice Coordinating	Fletcher
Council	
San Diego County Behavioral Health Advisory	Fletcher
Board	
San Diego County Regional Airport Authority*	Fletcher
San Diego County Water Authority	Desmond (Non-Voting Member)
Sui Diego County Water Hathonty	Lawson-Remer (Alternate)
San Diego Regional Building Authority	Fletcher / Vargas
San Diego Regional Economic Development	Vargas
Corporation Trustee	
San Diego Workforce Partnership, Inc., Policy	Lawson-Remer / Desmond
Board	Anderson (Alternate)
San Dieguito River Park JPA	Lawson-Remer / Anderson (Alt. Gregory
~ 105 0100 101 01 1 0110 1 11	Kazmer)
Santa Margarita River Watershed Management	Desmond
Program Policies Committee	
Solid Waste Hearing Panel	Desmond
Tobacco Securitization JPA – Sacramento	Fletcher

Unified San Diego County Disaster Council (Chair)	Vargas
Urban Counties of California	Vargas
	Anderson (1 st Alternate)

*Receives stipend.

AYES: Vargas, Anderson, Lawson-Remer, Fletcher, Desmond

State of California) County of San Diego) §

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Original entered in the Minutes of the Board of Supervisors.

ANDREW POTTER Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Ander Pater

Signed by Andrew Potter

