

## VICE-CHAIR

SUPERVISOR, THIRD DISTRICT SAN DIEGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

## **AGENDA ITEM**

DATE: April 8, 2025

**TO:** Board of Supervisors

## **SUBJECT**

# NOMINATIONS TO THE CALIFORNIA COASTAL COMMISSION (DISTRICTS: ALL)

### **OVERVIEW**

Approve the following nominations to the California Coastal Commission.

Board of Supervisors Nominations:

Supervisor Joel Anderson County of San Diego, District 2 1600 Pacific Highway San Diego, CA 92101

Supervisor Terra Lawson-Remer County of San Diego, District 3 1600 Pacific Highway San Diego, CA 92101

Supervisor Monica Montgomery Steppe County of San Diego, District 4 1600 Pacific Highway San Diego, CA 92101

Supervisor Jim Desmond County of San Diego, District 5 1600 Pacific Highway San Diego, CA 92101

Legistar v1.0

### SUBJECT: NOMINATIONS TO THE CALIFORNIA COASTAL COMMISSION

## **City Nominations:**

Councilmember Jose Preciado City of Chula Vista 276 Fourth Avenue Chula Vista, CA 91910

Mayor Paloma Aguirre City of Imperial Beach 825 Imperial Beach Boulevard Imperial Beach, CA 91932

Deputy Mayor Kristi Becker City of Solana Beach 635 S. Highway 101 Solana Beah, CA 92075

Mayor Terry Gaasterland City of Del Mar 1050 Camino Del Mar Del Mar, CA 92014

Mayor Esther Sanchez City of Oceanside 300 N Coast Highway Oceanside, CA 92054

### **RECOMMENDATION(S)**

### VICE-CHAIR TERRA LAWSON-REMER

- 1. Approve the nominations for appointment to the California Coastal Commission.
- 2. Direct the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors to submit these nominations to the Honorable Robert Rivas, Speaker of the California Assembly.

## **EQUITY IMPACT STATEMENT**

N/A

#### SUSTAINABILITY IMPACT STATEMENT

N/A

## FISCAL IMPACT

There is no fiscal impact associated with these nominations.

## **BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT**

N/A

### ADVISORY BOARD STATEMENT

Legistar v1.0 2

### SUBJECT: NOMINATIONS TO THE CALIFORNIA COASTAL COMMISSION

N/A

### **BACKGROUND**

The California Coastal Act division of the California Public Resources Code states that the Board of Supervisors and the City Selection Committee shall each nominate not less than three Supervisors, and not less than three Mayors or City Council members from the region for appointment to the California Coastal Commission whenever it is requested by an appointing authority.

On March 4, 2025, the Board of Supervisors was notified that the Speaker of the California State Assembly has requested nominations for an appointment to the California Coastal Commission for the San Diego Coast Representative be submitted by the Board by April 18, 2025. Provision 30301.2 of the Public Resources Code requires the Assembly Speaker solicit nominations from the Board of Supervisors and the City Selection Committee.

Government Code Section 50270 designates the Mayors of all cities within the County of San Diego to serve on the City Selection Committee (CSC). The purpose of the CSC is to appoint city representatives to boards, commissions, and agencies as required by law. On March 10, 2025, the CSC held a special meeting and voted to submit the following nominations to the Speaker for consideration of appointment to the Coastal Commission:

- Mayor/City Council Member Nominations: Imperial Beach Mayor Paloma Aguirre; Chula Vista Councilmember Jose Preciado; Oceanside Mayor Esther Sanchez; and Del Mar Mayor Terry Gaasterland.
- Board of Supervisors Nominations: Supervisor Jim Desmond; Supervisor Terra Lawson-Remer; Supervisor Monica Montgomery Steppe; and Supervisor Joel Anderson.

## LINKAGE TO THE COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO STRATEGIC PLAN N/A

Respectfully submitted,

TERRA LAWSON-REMER Supervisor, Third District

ATTACHMENT(S) N/A

Legistar v1.0 3